American Legion Emblem



Eagle Scout of the Year

Eagle Scout of the Year

The American Legion Life Insurance Committee provides annually for a national scholarship to be awarded to the Eagle Scout who is selected "The American Legion Eagle Scout of the Year."  The winner is eligible to receive a $10,000 scholarship to be awarded over a four-year period.  Three additional scholarships of $2,500 each are also awarded.
Eligibility requirements specify that a nominee must be registered, active member of a Boy Scout troop, Varsity Scout team, or Venturing crew chartered to an American Legion Post, American Legion Auxiliary Unit, or Sons of the American Legion Squadron, OR be registered, active member of a duly chartered Boy Scout troop, Varsity Scout team, or Venturing crew and the son or grandson of a Legionnaire or Auxiliary member; have received the Eagle Scout Award; be an active member of his religious institution and have received the appropriate Boy Scout religious emblem; have demonstrated practical citizenship in church, school, Scouting, and community; have reached his 15th birthday; and be enrolled in high school at the time of selection.
Further information please contact the Department, or the Americanism and Children & Youth Division:
The American Legion
P.O. Box 1055. 
Indianapolis, IN 46206
To view these files, you require the Adobe Acrobat helper application, which can be found for free download at the Adobe's site:

© 2020 Department of Wisconsin | All Rights Reserved

Headquarters Administration